janet jackson 600x450 - Billboard Music Awards: Janet Jackson to Receive Icon Award

Billboard Music Awards: Janet Jackson to Receive Icon Award

Spread the love

Janet Jackson will receive the Icon Award at the 2018 Billboard Music Awards. The honor recognizes the cultural impact of an artist, both within and outside of the music industry; past recipients of the award include Neil Diamond (2011), Stevie Wonder (2012), Prince (2013), Jennifer Lopez (2014), Céline Dion (2016) and Cher (2017). Jackson will also take the stage to perform. The singer earned 18 Billboard Music Award nominations from 1990 to 2001, and won 10 times.

This will be the first televised performance of Jackson’s in nine years.

janet jackson 300x300 - Billboard Music Awards: Janet Jackson to Receive Icon Award

Jackson will join previously announced musical acts BTS, Camila Cabello, Ariana Grande, Dua Lipa and Shawn Mendes. Kelly Clarkson will host the event at Las Vegas’ MGM Grand Garden Arena. NBC will broadcast the ceremony live Sunday, May 20, beginning at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT.

Ariana Grande will be opening the 2018 Billboard Music Awards.

Jackson will be having a busy summer ahead of her. The singer announced last month that she would be extending her State of the World Tour by adding 11 dates to her North American concert series.

The six-time Grammy Award winner, Janet Jackson has sold over 160 million records worldwide. Her No. 1 hits include “Again,” “Black Cat,” “All for You,” “Doesn’t’ Really Matter,” “Escapade,” “Love Will Never Do (Without You),” “Miss You Much,” “That’s the Way Love Goes,” “Together Again” and “When I Think of You.” Jackson’s last album, Unbreakable, was released in late 2015.

Don’t miss E!’s Live From the Red Carpet: The 2018 Billboard Music Awards special Sunday, May 20, at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT!

Originally posted 2018-05-09 15:16:56.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image